Blog Tour: One Perfect Grave

Buy Links

Synopsis

She didn’t see the patch of black ice until it was too late. The car started to spin, and as it veered off into the deep ditch and the mounds of snow beside the road, she saw him. The little boy frozen in the ice.

When the remains of two bodies are found in an open grave along a desolate highway in Stillwater, Minnesota, Special Agent Nikki Hunt knows exactly who they are. The bright blue jacket lying on the frozen earth belongs to Kellan Rhodes, the missing boy she’s desperately been trying to find for the last two days. The other body is his mother Dana, who had been Nikki’s lead suspect.

Although the wounds on Dana’s body suggest she murdered her son and took her own life, Nikki finds evidence that suggests she was a victim too. Dana was desperately trying to regain custody of Kellan, and Nikki finds boot prints at the scene that belong to someone else.

When another child is reported missing, local journalist Caitlin Newport claims the cases are linked: Zach Reeves was taken away from his own mother in a custody battle, just like Kellan was.

Caitlin once helped Nikki find out the truth about her own parents’ murders, but her desire for a story nearly cost Nikki her life. Now, Nikki must decide if she can trust Caitlin again, before time runs out to find the killer and bring Zach home alive…

An unputdownable thriller that will make your heart pound until its final, shocking conclusion. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner and readers who want to binge read into the night.


My Review

Dana Rhodes is a woman who has gone through the fire. As a recovering methamphetamine addict, she has faced an uphill custody battle with her older sister Maggie. Understandably, because of her past it is hard for the family to trust her. When she and her son Kellan go missing everyone assumes the worst. Has Dana relapsed? Did she kidnap her son? Would she harm him?

When their bodies are found in a frozen grave what first appears to be an isolated murder-suicide starts to read like a totally different crime. FBI agent Nikki Hunt has an eye for detail and she quickly discovers that there is more to this crime than first meets the eye. Then, another boy around Kellan’s age goes missing. He too was the subject of a custody battle. Two boys missing within the same timeframe. Could there be a connection? Nikki Hunt is not so sure but reporter Caitlin Newport is adamant that the cases are linked. Despite their past differences, Nikki keeps an open ear and goes where the evidence leads her.

As a character Nikki is smart and sensitive. She is a devoted mom who will drop everything at the drop of a hat to comfort her daughter. She shows compassion and empathy for the victims while doggedly pursuing her cases. Although I did not have the chance to read The Girls in the Snow before One Perfect Grave I felt that I knew Nikki. One Perfect Grave was a fast paced thriller that kept me hooked. I actually read this one in a day. I most certainly will be continuing with this series and recommend that you do too. Special thanks to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for granting me access to this book.


Meet the Author

Stacy Green is the author of the Lucy Kendall thriller series and the Delta Crossroads mystery trilogy. ALL GOOD DEEDS (Lucy Kendall #1) won a bronze medal for mystery and thriller at the 2015 IPPY Awards. TIN GOD (Delta Crossroads #1) was runner-up for best mystery/thriller at the 2013 Kindle Book Awards. Stacy has a love of thrillers and crime fiction, and she is always looking for the next dark and twisted novel to enjoy. She started her career in journalism before becoming a stay at home mother and rediscovering her love of writing. She lives in Iowa with her husband and daughter and their three spoiled fur babies.

Where You Can Find Her

One thought on “Blog Tour: One Perfect Grave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s